Navigation and service

How measurements work

ODL probe: Design / Maintenance

The ODL measuring network consists of stationary probes using cable connections for power supply and for the transmission of data. In addition, "quasi-stationary" probes are also available. These are mobile probes with an independent power supply. In the event of an incident, the measuring network can be reinforced by using these probes within a potentially affected area. This makes it possible to assess the radiological situation more accurately on a local level and to obtain a more precise overview of the situation.

Design and function of the probes

Design of an ODL probe Lupe Design of an ODL  probe: low-dose counter, high-dose counter and electronic analysis system

The stationary and quasi-stationary ODL probes are largely identical in design. They consist of two Geiger-Müller counters. The probes are filled with gas and are positioned within an electric field. If particles penetrate the tube wall, a voltage pulse is generated. The counters register this pulse. The gas-filled counter tubes are different in size so that they cover an extremely large measuring range, reaching from 0.04 microsievert per hour to 5 sievert per hour.

The low-dose counter

The highly sensitive "low-dose counter" makes it possible to determine the base level of the ambient dose rate. This is the level of the natural environmental radioactivity, which is typically between 0.04 and 0.25 microsievert per hour in Germany or in Europe.

The high-dose counter

To cater for all scenarios, the second counter – the "high-dose counter" – makes it possible to determine an ambient dose rate of up to 5 sievert per hour. The data generated by the ODL probes is analysed to obtain a total value for the ambient radioactivity. However, this value does not show the different types of radionuclides involved.

Spectrometering ODL probes

Spectrometering ODL probes are used to register gamma radiation and x-rays depending on their amount of energy. A scintillator detector, for example, transforms the energy contained in the radiation into light pulses. It reinforces the light and creates an analogue electric signal from this light. The electric signal is transformed into a digital value that can be analysed by the system. If these signals are recorded over a longer period of time – such as 30 minutes – they yield a spectrum. This spectrum can be used to deduce the type of radionuclides involved and their intensity.

Maintenance

BfS staff performs maintenance work on an ODL probe Lupe BfS  staff performs maintenance work on an ODL probe

BfS staff visits each ODL measuring station for an inspection at least every three years to ensure regular maintenance of the measuring network. At this occasion the BfS staff performs the pending service tasks and carries out a function test as well as an electrical equipment check. These tasks serve for quality assurance of the measuring station.

© Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz

Navigation und Service

Wie wird gemessen?

ODL-Messsonde: Aufbau und Wartung

Das ODL-Messnetz verfügt über ortsfest aufgebaute Sonden mit kabelgebundenen Anschlüssen zur Stromversorgung und zur Datenübertragung. Zusätzlich stehen auch sogenannte quasi-stationäre ODL-Sonden bereit. Es handelt sich dabei um mobile Sonden mit autarker Stromversorgung. Im Ereignisfall kann das Messnetz mit diesen Sonden gezielt in einem möglicherweise betroffenen Gebiet verdichtet werden. Dadurch lassen sich kleinräumigere Bewertungen der radiologischen Lage erstellen. Das Gesamtbild wird genauer.

Aufbau und Funktionsweise der Messsonden

Aufbau einer ODL-Sonde Lupe Aufbau einerODL-Sonde: Niederdosiszählrohr, Hochdosiszählrohr und Auswerteelektronik

Die stationären und quasi-stationären ODL-Sonden sind weitgehend baugleich. Sie bestehen aus zwei Geiger-Müller-Zählrohren. Die Zählrohre sind mit Gas gefüllt und befinden sich in einem elektrischen Feld. Schlagen Teilchen durch die Rohrwand, wird ein Spannungsimpuls erzeugt, der dann gezählt wird. Die gasgefüllten Zählrohre sind unterschiedlich groß und ermöglichen so einen extrem weiten Messbereich zwischen etwa 0,04 Mikrosievert pro Stunde und 5 Sievert pro Stunde.

Das Niederdosis-Zählrohr

Das empfindliche sogenannte Niederdosis-Zählrohr ermöglicht die Bestimmung der ODL im Grundpegelbereich. Das ist der Bereich der natürlichen Umweltradioaktivität, die in Deutschland bzw. Europa typischerweise im Bereich von 0,04 bis 0,25 Mikrosievert pro Stunde liegt.

Das Hochdosis-Zählrohr

Um auf alle Szenarien vorbereitet zu sein, ermöglicht das zweite sogenannte Hochdosis-Zählrohr die Messungen der ODL bis 5 Sievert pro Stunde. Aus den von den ODL-Sonden erzeugten Daten wird ein Gesamtwert der Umgebungsradioaktivität ermittelt, der nicht zwischen unterschiedlichen Radionukliden unterscheidet.

Spektrometrierende ODL-Sonden

Eine spektrometrierende ODL-Sonde wird zur energieabhängigen Registrierung der Gamma- und Röntgenstrahlung eingesetzt. Beispielsweise wird bei einem Szintillator-Detektor die Energie der Strahlung in Lichtimpulse umgewandelt. Das Licht wird verstärkt und in ein analoges elektrisches Signal verarbeitet. Das elektrische Signal wird in einen digitalen Wert umgerechnet und weiterverarbeitet. Werden diese Signale über einen längeren Zeitraum – zum Beispiel 30 Minuten - aufgezeichnet, so ergibt sich ein Spektrum. Dieses Spektrum gibt Aufschluss darüber, welche Radionuklide in welcher Intensität beteiligt sind.

Wartung

Titel des Bildes Lupe BfS-Mtarbeiter warten eine ODL-Sonde

Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen des BfS fahren jede ODL-Messstelle im Rahmen der Messnetzpflege mindestens alle drei Jahre an. Sie erledigen anstehende Servicearbeiten und unterziehen die Messstelle einer Funktionsprüfung sowie einer elektrischen Betriebsmittelprüfung. Diese Maßnahmen dienen zur Qualitätssicherung der Messstelle.

© Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz