Navigation and service

How measurements work

Information on the interpretation of ODL measuring results

The intensity of the external radiation is indicated in μSv/h (microsievert per hour). The natural ambient dose rate in Germany is between 0.05 μSv/h and 0.2 μSv/h, depending on the local conditions. The radiation released by the Chernobyl nuclear accident in 1986 contributes only a small part to the "natural" gamma ambient dose rate (ODL) measured today.

Ordinary sequence of the time serie

Ordinary time series at the Schleswig measuring station Lupe Fig. 1: Ordinary time series at the Schleswig measuring station

The external radiation exposure at any given place remains largely constant. Figure 1 shows an ordinary sequence of the time series representing the ambient dose rate at measuring station 010590751 in Schleswig between 13 April 2011 and 15 April 2011. This time series is free of temporary occurrences, such as rain, snow or technical failures.

Increase due to rain

Short-term increases up to a factor of 2 occur where radioactive decay products of radon, a natural radioactive noble gas, are washed out of the atmosphere by precipitation and are deposited on the ground. These occurrences are almost always linked with precipitation. It is typical for natural occurrences that the ambient dose rate increases for a short period of time and returns to its ordinary level within just a few hours. The decrease of the ambient dose rate is usually asymptotic (the curve approaches the original level slowly) with a typical half-life period of 30 minutes; it occurs usually more slowly than the increase. Figure 2 shows the occurrence of rain in the time series registered at a measuring station in Todendorf.

Time series including temporary occurrences of rain Lupe Fig. 2: Time series including temporary occurrences of rain

For a better understanding, Figure 2 does not only show the ambient dose rate (black) but also the time series of the weather radar (red) published by Germany's National Meteorological Service (DWD) that reflects the measured cloud density. A high cloud density means a strong probability of precipitation. During the occurrence of precipitation the ambient dose rate increases temporarily because radon decay products are washed out of the atmosphere and are deposited on the ground.

Trend of the time series in case of snowfall

Snowfall may also lead to an increase of the ambient dose rate as in the case of rain, in particular if the ground was free of snow before. If the ground is now covered with snow, however, the ambient dose rate will remain on a lower level (see Figure 3). The snow shields the terrestrial radiation effectively. Once the snow begins to thaw, the ambient dose rate will return to its former level.

Example of a time series including snow cover Lupe Fig. 3: Example of a time series including snow cover

In addition to such short-term variations, the trend of the ambient dose rate is also subject to seasonal variations over longer periods of time that can amount to several 10 nSv/h (nanosievert per hour). The primary reason for this are constant changes in soil moisture, the geology of the ground, the surface properties of the ground and the microclimate on site.

Variations in ODL measurements

Radiological incidents or technical problems may cause even larger variations in the ambient dose rate measurements. The measuring stations detect such variations and send automatically "instant messages" in order to alert the BfS staff. The measuring stations detect both technical problems (such as battery mode for more than 5 hours, automatic shutdown due to flat batteries, battery errors, failures of the counter tubes) and radiological incidents that can be recognized when threshold values are exceeded.

The data is checked daily for plausibility. All measured values that have exceeded the thresholds and are automatically attributed the status "to be verified" will be checked and compared with the technical and radiological instant messages received. Failures and radiological incidents can be rapidly identified in this process. The counter tubes are very sensitive so that they are unfortunately prone to interference. In the case of long-term, continuous measurements, the trend of the ambient dose rate can also be influenced by a failure somewhere in the measurement chain (probe, transmitter, power supply) or by an atmospheric discharge (lightning).

Potential technical failures

The potential technical failures can have very different causes. In Figures 4 - 8 you will find a selection of frequently occurring failures.

Failure of the low-dose counter Lupe Fig. 4: Failure of the low-dose counter (does not emit pulses)

Failure of the low-dose counter

Figure 4 shows a typical time series in the event of a failure of the low-dose counter. The time series starts with ordinary values but then the individual values vary considerably. The measurements show only certain numerical values but the ambient dose rate does not take any intermediate values. If the pulses are also taken into account it becomes immediately obvious that there is a failure in the low-dose counter. The ambient dose rate is only calculated on the basis of the pulses from the high-dose counter. The stepped structure of the time series is due to the low sensitivity of this counter. The transmitter detects this error, recognises the failure of a counter tube and sends an instant message to the relevant measuring node of the Federal Office for Radiation Protection.

Failure of both counter tubes

If the transmitter does not receive any pulses from the low-dose counter nor from the high-dose counter (Figure 5), the ambient dose rate cannot be determined. The most frequent cause for a simultaneous failure of both counters is, according to experience, a disruption of the probe cable. A failure of the probe electronics would be another typical cause.

No low-dose or high-dose pulses Lupe Fig. 5: No low-dose or high-dose pulses

At locations where the probe is exposed to wind, strong winds can cause vibrations in the entire probe including the standpipe. In the event of mechanical stimulation at the resonance frequency, the wire in the counter tube can start to vibrate as well, thus shortening the distance to the anode. This can trigger discharges between anode and cathode that the transmitter would interpret as gamma pulses. If wind effects occur, no regular pattern can be recognized, neither in the amplitude nor in the sequence of the ambient dose rate values. The increases will stop after a few hours and might recur after a longer period of time, as can be seen in Figure 6. In order to solve this problem, the probe could be replaced by a less sensitive probe. If the problem cannot be solved this way, a reinforced standpipe could be used at this site or the probe might be relocated to a more protected site.

Time series including wind effects Lupe Fig. 6: Time series including wind effects

Wind effects

If significant or even regular increases in the ambient dose rate are observed, this may be due to a duplication error. This error indicates a technical problem in the probe. Following an ordinary sequence, drastic increases in the measured values are observed that amount to twice the base level (Figure 7). After one or several hours, the values usually return to the base level.

The reason for such duplication is that a pulse measured by the counter tube triggers follow-up pulses that are not due to external radiation. This is often due to a temperature effect that indicates age-related problems of the counter tube. The follow-up pulses are counted as well, thus the ambient dose rate appears to be higher.

Duplication error

Duplication error Lupe Fig. 7: Duplication error

Within the ordinary sequence of the measured values, individual increases can be observed (Figure 8) that amount to several 0.1 μSv/h. The sequence of the increases does not show any regular pattern. This is mostly due to electromagnetic interference at the supply lines. Thanks to technical advancements in the probe design peaks hardly occur any more today.

Conclusion

These cases only represent a small part of the potential failures. Probes that show these or other failures will be immediately replaced or repaired. Since the BfS staff verifies the measured data daily, defective systems are rapidly identified and are tagged as "defective" in the database operated by the measuring network office. The data transmitted by these probes will thus not be taken into account for early alert messages.

Individual peaks Lupe Fig. 8: Individual peaks

Please note, however, that the hourly measured values published on this website are unverified raw data that may not be free of technical interference.

Radiological incidents only give reason to worry if a significantly increased ambient dose rate is registered over a longer period of time (e.g. one day or longer) or if the increase is more than two-fold and there is no technical failure. Temporary increases of the ambient dose rate caused by radon decay products being washed out of the atmosphere, as described above, cannot be considered as abnormalities. Unusual values detected in the measuring system always have to be subject to an intensive plausibility check.

Measuring network

Six measuring nodes of the Federal Office for Radiation Protection, situated in Berlin, Bonn, Freiburg, Neuherberg near Munich, Rendsburg and Salzgitter, are responsible for service and maintenance work on the measuring network. In addition to the automatically running systems BfS also operates mobile systems that are used to perform nuclide-specific measurements in regular intervals.

ODL measuring probe operated by BfS Lupe Fig. 9: ODL measuring probe operated by BfS

Figure 9 shows a probe belonging to the measuring network. It contains two Geiger-Müller counters that measure the ambient dose rate. The data logger (transmitter) connected to the probe condenses the data registered by the probe into 1-minute and 10-minute values that are transmitted to the measuring nodes in regular intervals. In the event of a failure or increased measuring values, the probe automatically sends a message. In order to be able to compare the values measured by the probes distributed all over Germany, the selected sites must meet certain criteria. An optimal site for a probe would be a flat, trimmed meadow free of larger plants, sealed surfaces or buildings.

© Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz

Navigation und Service

Wie wird gemessen?

Informationen zur Interpretation von ODL-Messergebnissen

Die Höhe der äußeren Strahlung wird in der Einheit μSv/h (Mikrosievert pro Stunde) angegeben. Die natürliche ODL bewegt sich in Deutschland je nach örtlichen Gegebenheiten zwischen 0,05 μSv/h und 0,2 μSv/h. Die Strahlung die durch den Reaktorunfall in Tschernobyl 1986 frei gesetzt wurde, trägt heute nur wenig zur gemessenen "natürlichen" Gamma-Ortsdosisleistung (ODL) bei.

Normaler Zeitreihenverlauf

Titel des Bildes Lupe Abb. 1: Normaler Zeitreihenverlauf an der Messstelle Schleswig

Die äußere Strahlenbelastung ist an einem Ort weitgehend konstant. In Abbildung 1 wird von der Messstelle 010590751 in Schleswig der normale Zeitreihenverlauf der Ortsdosisleistung für den Zeitraum vom 13.04.2011 bis 15.04.2011 beispielhaft dargestellt. Diese Zeitreihe ist frei von kurzzeitigen Regenereignissen, Schneeabdeckungen oder technischen Störungen.

Erhöhung bei Regen

Kurzzeitige Erhöhungen bis etwa einen Faktor 2 treten auf, wenn radioaktive Folgeprodukte des natürlich vorkommenden, radioaktiven Edelgases Radon durch Niederschläge aus der Atmosphäre ausgewaschen und am Boden deponiert werden. Solche Ereignisse sind fast immer mit Niederschlägen gekoppelt. Es ist typisch für diese natürlichen Ereignisse, dass die Erhöhung der ODL nur kurz ist und innerhalb von wenigen Stunden auf den Normalpegel zurückgeht. Der Abfall der ODL ist in der Regel asymptotisch (langsame Annäherung der Kurve an die ursprüngliche Messwerthöhe) mit einer typischen Halbwertszeit von 30 Minuten und ist gewöhnlich langsamer als der Anstieg. In Abbildung 2 sind beispielhaft Regenereignisse in der Zeitreihe einer Messstelle in Todendorf dargestellt.

Titel des Bildes Lupe Abb. 2: Zeitreihe mit kurzzeitigen Regenereignissen

Zur Verdeutlichung ist in Abbildung 2 neben der ODL (schwarz) auch die Zeitreihe des DWD-Wetterradars (rot), die die gemessene Wolkendichte widerspiegelt, dargestellt. Eine hohe Wolkendichte lässt mit großer Wahrscheinlichkeit auf Niederschlag schließen. Während der Niederschläge ergeben sich kurzzeitige Erhöhungen der ODL durch das Auswaschen der Radonfolgeprodukte aus der Atmosphäre und der Ablagerung am Boden.

Entwicklung bei Schneefall

Auch Schneefall kann, insbesondere wenn der Untergrund vorher schneefrei war zu einer regentypischen Erhöhung der ODL führen. Durch die Abdeckung des Bodens mit Schnee ergibt sich jedoch in der Folge eine bleibende Absenkung des ODL-Niveaus (siehe Abbildung 3). Durch die Schneedecke wird die Bodenstrahlung wirkungsvoll abgeschirmt. Mit dem Einsetzen von Tauwetter und dem Abschmelzen des Schnees steigen die ODL-Werte wieder auf das alte Niveau.

Beispiel einer Zeitreihe mit Schneeabdeckung Lupe Abb. 3: Beispiel einer Zeitreihe mit Schneeabdeckung

Eine Verlaufskurve der Ortsdosisleistung unterliegt neben den kurzfristigen Variationen in längeren Zeitabschnitten auch jahreszeitlichen Schwankungen die in einer Größenordnung von einigen 10 nSv/h (Nanosievert pro Stunde) liegen können. Der wesentliche Grund hierfür ist der ständige Wechsel der Bodenfeuchtigkeit, die Geologie des Untergrundes, die Oberflächenbeschaffenheit des Bodens sowie das Mikroklima am Standort.

Veränderung der gemessenen ODL

Durch radiologische Ereignisse oder technische Probleme kann die ODL auch in größeren Bereichen variieren. Die Messstelle detektiert diese Änderungen und versendet automatisch so genannte Spontanmeldungen um auf diesen Zustand aufmerksam zu machen. Hierbei werden technische Probleme (Batteriebetrieb von mehr als 5 Stunden, Selbstabschaltung bei leeren Batterien, Batteriefehler, Ausfall der Zählrohre) sowie radiologische Ereignisse, die sich u.a. durch Schwellenwertüberschreitungen bemerkbar machen können, detektiert.

Bei der täglichen Plausibilisierung der Daten werden alle Messwerte, die zu einer Grenzwertverletzung geführt haben und die somit den automatisch vergebenen Status "zu prüfen" besitzen, geprüft und mit den eingegangenen technischen sowie radiologischen Spontanmeldungen abgeglichen, so dass Störungen und radiologische Ereignisse schnell bemerkt werden können. Insbesondere die Zählrohre zeichnen sich durch eine hohe Empfindlichkeit aus, was leider auch zu Störungen führen kann. Bei langfristigen, kontinuierlichen Messungen kann auch ein Defekt innerhalb der Messkette (Sonde,  Messwertsender, Stromversorgung) oder eine atmosphärische Entladung (Blitz) den Verlauf der ODL beeinflussen.

Beschreibung technischer Defekte

Hinweise auf einen technischen Defekt können sehr unterschiedlich sein. Eine Auswahl häufig auftretender Störungen werden in den Abbildungen 4 - 8 vorgestellt.

Niederdosiszählrohr defekt Lupe Abb. 4: Niederdosiszählrohr defekt (liefert keine Impulse)

Defektes Niederdosiszählrohr

Ein typischer Verlauf für ein defektes Niederdosiszählrohr ist in Abbildung 4 dargestellt. Nach normalem Verlauf, ist eine starke Schwankung von Messwert zu Messwert zu erkennen. Die einzelnen Messwerte nehmen nur bestimmte Zahlenwerte an, es sind keine Zwischenwerte in der ODL zu erkennen. Betrachtet man sich hierzu die Impulse, so erkennt man sofort den Defekt. Bei der Berechnung der ODL werden die Impulse des Hochdosiszählrohres heran gezogen. Die geringe Empfindlichkeit dieses Zählrohres erzeugt diese Treppenstruktur in der Zeitreihe. Der Messwertsender detektiert diesen Fehler als Ausfall eines Zählrohres und meldet sich mit einer Spontanmeldung bei dem zuständigen Messnetzknoten im Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz.

Defekt beider Zählrohre

Wenn der Messwertsender weder vom ND-Zählrohr noch vom HD-Zählrohr Impulse erhält, (Abbildung 5) können auch keine ODL-Messwerte gebildet werden. Erfahrungsgemäß ist die häufigste Ursache für ein gleichzeitiges Ausbleiben der Impulse von beiden Zählrohren eine Unterbrechung des Sondenkabels. Ein Ausfall der Sondenelektronik ist eine weitere typische Ursache.

Keine ND- und HD-Impulse Lupe Abb. 5: Keine ND- und HD-Impulse

An Wind exponierten Standorten ist es möglich, dass die gesamte Sonde incl. des Standrohres bei starkem Wind in Schwingungen versetzt wird. Bei mechanischer Anregung mit der Resonanzfrequenz kann der Draht im Zählrohr ebenfalls schwingen und damit den Abstand zur Anode verringern, so dass Entladungen zwischen Anode und Kathode ausgelöst werden können, die als Gammaimpulse vom Messwertsender interpretiert werden. Beim Auftreten eines Windeffekts ist kein regelmäßiges Muster, weder in der Amplitude noch in der Zeitfolge innerhalb der ODL zu erkennen. Die Erhöhungen sind nach einigen Stunden zu Ende und wiederholen sich möglicherweise nach einem längeren Zeitraum, siehe Abbildung 6. Um diesem Problem entgegen zu wirken, wird die Sonde gegen eine möglicherweise weniger empfindliche ausgetauscht. Wird das Problem so nicht gelöst, wird ein verstärktes Standrohr an diesem Standort verwendet oder die Sonde wird auf einen etwas geschützteren Standort verlegt.

Zeitreihe mit Windeffekt Lupe Abb. 6: Zeitreihe mit Windeffekt

Windeffekt

Beobachtet man signifikante, unter Umständen sogar regelmäßige Erhöhungen in der ODL, so kann es sich um einen sogenannten Verdopplungsfehler handeln. Dieser Fehler stellt ein technisches Problem der Sonde dar. Nach normalen Verlauf ergeben sich sprunghaft erhöhte Messwerte in der Größenordnung des Doppelten des Grundwertes (Abbildung 7). Nach ein bis mehreren Stunden sinken die Werte normalerweise wieder auf das Grundniveau ab.

Die Ursache dieser Verdopplung liegt in der Auslösung von Folgeimpulsen nach einem gemessenen Zählrohrimpuls, die nicht durch äußere Strahlung bedingt sind. Oftmals handelt es sich hierbei um einen Temperatureffekt der altersbedingte Probleme des Zählrohrs aufzeigt. Diese Folgeimpulse werden ebenfalls gezählt, und folglich erscheint die berechnete ODL erhöht.

Verdoppelungsfehler

Verdoppelungsfehler Lupe Abb. 7: Verdoppelungsfehler

Innerhalb des normalen Verlaufs ergeben sich einzelne erhöhte Messwerte (Abbildung 8) in der Größenordnung von einigen 0,1 μSv/h. Es lässt sich keine Regelmäßigkeit in der Abfolge der Erhöhungen erkennen. Vielfach handelt es sich um elektromagnetische Störungen im Bereich der Zuleitungen. Durch technische Weiterentwicklungen im Bereich der Sonde treten Peaks kaum noch auf.

Schlussfolgerung

Diese Auswahl stellt nur einen kleinen Teil der möglichen Störungen dar. Sonden die diese und auch andere Störungen zeigen werden umgehend ausgetauscht oder repariert. Da das BfS die Messdaten täglich prüft werden defekte Systeme schnell bemerkt und in der Datenbank der Messnetzzentrale erhalten sie den Status defekt. Die Daten dieser Sonden gehen damit in die Voralarmberechnung nicht mehr ein.

Einzelne Erhöhungen (Peaks) Lupe Abb. 8: Einzelne Erhöhungen (Peaks)

Es muss allerdings stets beachtet werden, dass es sich bei den dargestellten Stundenmesswerten um ungeprüfte Rohdaten handelt, die ggf. nicht frei von technischen Störeinflüssen sind.

Ein Anlass zur Besorgnis bei radiologischen Ereignissen besteht erst dann, wenn eine signifikant erhöhte ODL über längere Zeit (z.B. 1 Tag und länger) anhält, bzw. wenn die Erhöhung über einen Faktor 2 hinausgeht und keine technische Störung vorliegt. Kurzzeitige Erhöhungen der ODL durch die Auswaschung von Radonfolgeprodukte, wie oben beschrieben, sind jedoch keine Auffälligkeiten. Auffällige Werte auf dem Messsystem müssen daher immer einer eingehenden Plausibilitätsprüfung unterzogen werden.

Messnetz

Das Messnetz wird von sechs Messnetzknoten des Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz, die sich in Berlin, Bonn, Freiburg, Neuherberg bei München, Rendsburg und Salzgitter befinden betreut. Neben den automatisch messenden Systemen werden weiterhin mobile Systeme betrieben, mit denen regelmäßig nuklidspezifische Messungen durchgeführt werden.

ODL-Messsonde des BfS Lupe Abb. 9: ODL-Messsonde des BfS

In Abbildung 9 ist eine Sonde des Messnetz zu sehen. Diese beinhaltet zwei Geiger-Müller-Zählrohre um die ODL zu messen. Auf dem angeschlossenen Datalogger (Messwertsender) werden die Daten der Sonde zu 1 und 10 Minutenwerten verdichtet und in regelmäßigen Abständen an die Messnetzknoten übermittelt. Sollte eine Störung oder erhöhte Messwerte vorliegen, meldet sich die Sonde automatisch. Um die Messergebnisse der Deutschlandweit verteilten Sonden vergleichen zu können, ist es wichtig, das die Standorte gewissen Kriterien unterliegen. Ein optimaler Sondenstandort zeichnet sich durch eine ebene gepflegte Wiese aus, auf der sich keine höheren Pflanzen, versiegelte Flächen oder Gebäude befinden.

© Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz