Navigation and service

Definition of ODL

Radiation exposure in everyday life

People have always lived in a radiating environment. Natural and man-made radiation sources lead to a certain radiation exposure. The quantity of such radiation exposure is called the "dose". Radiation exposure may have different impacts on human health, depending on its intensity.

What kind of radiation affects us?

Today people are not only subject to natural radiation but also to radiation caused by medical and technical applications. An X-ray made at the dentist's, for example, leads to an increased radiation exposure. Holiday flights must be counted, too, since the flight altitude is associated with an increase in cosmic radiation. Even radioactive substances that were blown into the atmosphere by above-ground nuclear weapons test or by the Chernobyl reactor accident in 1986 can still be detected today.

What is a "dose rate" and how can I convert it into a dose?

The dose rate measured by the ODL measuring network determines the external gamma radiation that a person is exposed to at the site of the probe. This will usually be the sum of natural terrestrial radiation and cosmic radiation. In the event of an accident-related ambient contamination it would be possible to estimate the amount of the resulting additional external radiation exposure on the basis of this value.

A dose rate of 0.1 microsievert per hour, which is a typical natural dose rate measured by the network, would lead to a total dose of around 1 millisievert per year.

Comparing the numbers

Annual natural radiation exposure = 2.1 millisievert

The annual natural radiation exposure (or, more exactly, the annual natural dose) to a person living in Germany amounts to 2.1 millisievert on average (effective dose). Depending on the place of residence, nutritional habits and lifestyle, this value varies between one and ten millisievert. The most important contributing factor is radon in dwellings which is accountable for 1.1 millisievert.

Transatlantic flight (back and forth) = 0.1 millisievert

A flight from Frankfurt to New York and back leads to an average effective dose of around 0.1 millisievert. Such a transatlantic journey thus causes an increase of five percent in the mean annual radiation exposure.

Smoking = 0.8 millisievert per year

Tobacco contains radionuclides. Smoking 20 cigarettes a day means that your lungs will be exposed to a dose of 0.8 millisievert per year. The effective dose (averaged over the whole body) amounts to 0.1 to 0.3 millisievert.

2 Brazil nuts per day = 0.16 millisievert per year

Compared with other kinds of food Brazil nuts contain a large amount of radium – a natural radionuclide. Eating two Brazil nuts per day means that your body will be exposed to an additional dose of 0.16 millisievert.

Medical examinations

Medical examinations contribute significantly to man-made radiation exposure:

Thorax X-ray = 0.01 - 0.03 millisievert

A thorax X-ray accounts for 0.01 - 0.03 millisievert.

Whole-body computer tomography = 10 - 20 millisievert

If a whole-body computer tomography is performed, a grown-up person will receive a radiation dose of 10 to 20 millisievert.

When does it become dangerous?

Acute radiation damage will occur within a short time (days or weeks), if a person has been subject to a high radiation exposure (exceeding 500 millisievert). Such a high radiation exposure might occur after a nuclear or radiological accident in the immediate vicinity of the scene of the accident.

Even a lower radiation exposure can lead to health effects (in particular cancer) after many years or decades. The probability of such medical conditions rises with increasing levels of radiation exposure. Radiation protection experts assume that there is no lowest dose value below which a health risk can be definitely excluded.

A few examples of potential health effects:

  • 100 millisievert*: Threshold dose for congenital malformations or death of the foetus
  • 100 millisievert: At this dose the number of additional cases of cancer and leukaemia within a specified segment of the population is 1 percent.
  • 500 millisievert*: If a person is acutely exposed to radiation at this intensity, this is the threshold dose for erythema.
  • 1000 millisievert*: From this intensity acute radiation effects can be witnessed, such as nausea and vomiting.
  • 3000 – 4000 millisievert*: Without medical treatment 50 percent of the individuals exposed to this dose will die after three to six weeks.
  • Above 8000 millisievert*: Without the relevant medical treatment there is little chance of survival if the respective individuals have been subject to such radiation exposure within a short time.

* For reasons of comparability, all values cited here are indicated in millisievert (mSv); to be scientifically correct, however, high dose values that trigger acute radiation effects would have to be indicated in milligray (mGy).

© Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz

Navigation und Service

Was ist ODL?

Strahlenbelastung im Alltag

Der Mensch lebt seit jeher in einer strahlenden Umwelt. Natürliche und zivilisatorische Strahlenquellen führen zu einer Strahlenbelastung (fachlich korrekt "Strahlenexposition"). Die Dosis ist ein Maß für die Strahlenexposition. Strahlenexpositionen können in Abhängigkeit von ihrer Höhe unterschiedliche gesundheitliche Wirkungen auf den Menschen haben.

Was wirkt auf uns ein?

Auf den Menschen wirkt heutzutage neben der natürlichen Strahlung unter anderem auch Strahlung aus medizinischen und technischen  Anwendungen ein. Die Röntgenaufnahme beim Zahnarzt etwa führt zu einer erhöhten Strahlenbelastung. Oder der Flug in den Urlaub, der aufgrund der Flughöhe mit einer hohen kosmischen Strahlung einhergeht. Selbst radioaktive Stoffe, die durch oberirdische Kernwaffentests in die Atmosphäre gelangten sowie die durch den Reaktorunfall von Tschernobyl im Jahr 1986, sind noch heute nachweisbar. (Siehe auch Vergleich des Fallouts durch oberirdische Kernwaffentests, den Reaktorunfall in Tschernobyl und den Reaktorunfall in Japan)

Was sagt mir die „Dosisleistung“ und wie komme ich zu einer Dosis?

Die vom ODL-Messnetz gemessene Dosisleistung gibt an, welcher externen Gamma-Strahlung ein Mensch ausgesetzt ist, der sich am Ort der Sonde befindet. Im Normalfall ist das die Summe aus natürlicher Bodenstrahlung und kosmischer Strahlung. Im Fall einer unfallbedingten Umweltkontamination würde man die Höhe der daraus resultierenden zusätzlichen externen Strahlenbelastung abschätzen können.

Eine Dosisleistung von 0,1 Mikrosievert pro Stunde, also eine typischerweise gemessene natürliche Dosisleistung, würde zu einer Gesamtdosis von circa 1 Millisievert pro Jahr führen.

Der Zahlenvergleich

Jährliche natürliche Strahlenbelastung = 2,1 Millisievert

Die jährliche natürliche Strahlenbelastung (oder genauer: die jährliche natürliche Dosis) einer in Deutschland lebenden Person beträgt durchschnittlich 2,1 Millisievert (effektive Dosis). Je nach Wohnort, Ernährungs- und Lebensgewohnheiten reicht sie von zirka einem bis zu zehn Millisievert. Den größten Beitrag liefert dabei mit 1,1 Millisievert Radon in Wohnungen.

Transatlantikflug hin und zurück = 0,1 Millisievert

Ein Flug von Frankfurt nach New York und zurück führt zu einer durchschnittlichen effektiven Dosis von zirka 0,1 Millisievert. Durch eine solche Transatlantikreise erhöht sich die mittlere jährliche Strahlenexposition also um zirka fünf Prozent.

Rauchen = 0,8 Millisievert im Jahr

Tabak enthält Radionuklide. Wer 20 Zigaretten am Tag raucht, dessen Lunge erhält im Jahr eine Dosis von 0,8 Millisievert. Die effektive (über den ganzen Körper gemittelte) Dosis beträgt 0,1 bis 0,3 Millisievert.

2 Paranüsse pro Tag = 0,16 Millisievert im Jahr

Paranüsse enthalten im Vergleich zu anderen Lebensmitteln besonders viel Radium - ein natürliches Radionuklid. Eine Person, die jeden Tag zwei Paranüsse verzehrt, erhält eine zusätzliche Dosis von 0,16 Millisievert.

Medizinische Untersuchungen

Medizinische Untersuchungen tragen erheblich zur zivilisatorischen Strahlenbelastung bei:

Röntgenaufnahme Brustkorb = 0,01 - 0,03 Millisievert

Eine Röntgenaufnahme des Brustkorbs schlägt mit 0,01 - 0,03 Millisievert zu Buche.

Ganzkörper-Computertomographie = 10 - 20 Millisievert

Bei eine Computertomographie des ganzen Körpers erhält ein erwachsener Mensch eine Strahlendosis von 10 bis 20 Millisievert.

Ab wann wird es gefährlich?

Akute Strahlenschäden treten innerhalb kurzer Zeit (Tage oder Wochen) auf, wenn man einer hohen Strahlenbelastung ausgesetzt war (über circa 500 Millisievert). Derartig hohe Strahlenbelastungen können nach einem kerntechnischen oder radiologischen Unfall in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Unglücksort auftreten.

Auch bei niedrigeren Strahlenbelastungen können nach vielen Jahren oder Jahrzehnten gesundheitliche Folgen (insbesondere Krebserkrankungen) auftreten. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit solcher Erkrankungen steigt mit zunehmender Höhe der erhaltenen Strahlenbelastung an. Im Strahlenschutz wird davon ausgegangen, dass es keinen Dosiswert gibt, unterhalb dessen mit Sicherheit ein gesundheitliches Risiko ausgeschlossen werden kann.

Hier einige Beispiele für mögliche gesundheitliche Schäden:

  • 100 Millisievert*: Schwellendosis für angeborene Fehlbildungen oder Tod des Foetus
  • 100 Millisievert: Bei dieser Dosis treten in einer Bevölkerungsgruppe etwa 1 Prozent zusätzliche Krebs- und Leukämiefälle auf
  • 500 Millisievert*: Ist ein Mensch akut einer Strahlung dieser Höhe ausgesetzt, treten ab dieser Schwellendosis Hautrötungen auf.
  • 1000 Millisievert*: Ab dieser Höhe treten akute Strahleneffekte wie etwa Übelkeit und Erbrechen auf.
  • 3000 – 4000 Millisievert*: Ohne medizinischen Behandlung sterben 50 Prozent der Menschen, die dieser Dosis ausgesetzt sind, nach drei bis sechs Wochen.
  • Über 8000 Millisievert*: Ohne entsprechende medizinische Behandlung bestehen nur geringe Überlebenschancen, wenn es sich um eine in kurzer Zeit erfahrene Strahlenbelastung handelte.

* Um die Vergleichbarkeit mit den ansonsten in Millisievert (mSv) angegebenen Messwerten zu ermöglichen, sind alle Werte hier ebenfalls in Millisievert angegeben; wissenschaftlich korrekt wäre die Angabe der Dosis im hohen Dosisbereich, in dem akute Strahlenwirkungen auftreten, in Milligray (mGy).

© Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz