Navigation and service

Definition of ODL

Maritime measuring stations

On three research rigs in the North Sea and the Baltic Sea, the Federal Office for Radiation Protection (BfS) has installed measuring stations for monitoring the environmental radioactivity. They are part of the ODL measuring network. Due to their geographical position they are an essential part of the early warning system in case of radiological events, e.g. in the United Kingdom or Sweden.

Measuring cosmic radiation

A maritime measuring station does not register any terrestrial radiation due to the height of the rig and due to the water between the seabed and the ODL probe completely shielding it from this type of radiation. Thus the probe only registers the cosmic portion of environmental radioactivity.

The cosmic radiation hitting earth from space is subject to a complex process of interaction with the magnetic field and the earth's atmosphere. The largest part of this radiation is mitigated in the atmosphere. Only a minor portion reaches the surface of the earth in the form of ionising radiation. Since the terrestrial portion of radiation is missing and rain effects only lead to very small increases (because rain water drains off rapidly) the cosmic effects can better be observed offshore than onshore.

Early warning in case of radiological events

Due to the specific geographical position these three measuring stations are particularly valuable for early warnings in the case of radiological events. A single increased value detected at one of the research rigs will not immediately trigger a pre-alert, however, since technical effects cannot be excluded. Yet these values can be used to estimate the intensity and length of a radiological event if a radioactive cloud reaches the mainland.

Time series of the ambient dose rate measurements on FINO2 in 2013 Lupe Time series of the ambient dose rate measurements on FINO2 in 2013. The high values are measuring errors due to strong wind that caused the rig to vibrate

Wind effects

Since Geiger-Müller counters are very sensitive, measurements on a rig are challenging. Stronger winds will cause vibrations in the rig. Part of these vibrations are erroneously registered as radioactive events, due to the specific construction of the counters. There are times, in particular in autumn and winter, where the measuring values registered by the maritime measuring stations are useless because of these wind effects. The impact of wind effects can be seen in the high outliers within the time series of ambient dose rate measurements. They are marked as implausible and are not taken into account for further assessment.

© Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz

Navigation und Service

Was ist ODL?

Messstellen auf dem Meer

Das Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz betreibt auf drei Forschungsplattformen in der Nord- und Ostsee Messstellen zur Überwachung der Umweltradioaktivität. Sie sind Teil des ODL-Messnetzes. Aufgrund ihrer geographischen Lage sind sie ein wichtiger Bestandteil des Frühwarnsystems bei radiologischen Ereignissen zum Beispiel in Großbritannien oder Schweden.

Messung der kosmischen Strahlung

Bei einer Messstelle auf dem Meer ist der terrestrische Anteil der Umweltradioaktivität aufgrund der Höhe der Plattform und der Wasserschicht zwischen Meeresboden und ODL-Sonde komplett abgeschirmt. Die Sonde erfasst daher nur den kosmischen Anteil der Umweltradioaktivität.

Die kosmische Strahlung aus dem Weltraum unterliegt einem komplexen Prozess der Interaktion mit dem Magnetfeld und der Erdatmosphäre. Der größte Anteil dieser Strahlung wird in der Atmosphäre abgeschwächt. Nur ein kleiner Bruchteil erreicht die Erdoberfläche als ionisierende Strahlung. Da die terrestrische Komponente fehlt und Regeneffekte auf der Plattform nur sehr kleine Erhöhungen zeigen (das Regenwasser läuft schnell ab), sind die kosmischen Effekte hier besser zu beobachten als an Land.

Frühwarnung bei radiologischen Ereignissen

Aufgrund der geographischen Lage eignen sic die drei Messstellen insbesondere für die Frühwarnung bei radiologischen Ereignissen. Ein erhöhter Wert auf einer der Forschungsplattformen wird zwar keinen Voralarm auslösen, da technische Effekte nicht ausgeschlossen werden können. Die Werte können aber zur Abschätzung der Stärke und der Dauer eines radioaktiven Ereignisses verwendet werden, sollte eine radioaktive Wolke das Festland erreichen.

Zeitreihe der Ortsdosisleistungsmessungen des Jahres 2013 von FINO 2 Lupe Zeitreihe der Ortsdosisleistungsmessungen des Jahres 2013 von FINO2. Bei den hohen Werten handelt es sich um Messfehler aufgrund von Windereignissen, die für starke Vibrationen der Plattform sorgen.

Windeffekt

Da die Geiger-Müller Zählrohre sehr empfindlich sind, stellen Messungen auf einer Plattform eine Herausforderung dar. Bei stärkerem Wind wird die Plattform in Schwingungen versetzt. Diese Schwingungen werden von den Zählrohren aufgrund ihrer Bauweise zum Teil fälschlicherweise als radioaktive Ereignisse wahrgenommen. Durch diesen sogenannten Windeffekt der Zählrohre ergeben sich insbesondere im Herbst und Winter Zeiten, zu denen die Messergebnisse unbrauchbar sind. Das Resultat des Windeffekts ist in der Zeitreihe der Ortdosisleistungengsmessungen an den hohen Ausreißern zu erkennen. Diese sind als unplausibel markiert und gehen nicht in die weitere Beurteilung mit ein.

© Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz