Navigation and service

Definition of ODL

The ODL measuring network

Everyone is subject to external radiation exposure caused by natural radioactivity at all times. This is due to natural radioactive substances (radionuclides) such as uranium, thorium and potassium (K-40) contained everywhere in the soil, in building materials and in space.

What do we measure?

The BfS measuring network routinely measures the natural radiation exposure. The measured local dose rate or ambient dose rate (Ortsdosisleistung, ODL) is expressed in microsievert per hour (μSv/h). This value describes the gamma radiation from the ambient air received per hour at a specified location.

The natural ambient dose rate in Germany is roughly between 0.05 μSv/h and 0.18 μSv/h, depending on local conditions. This external radiation exposure remains largely constant. Small and short-term increases occur where radioactive decay products of radon, a natural radioactive gas, are washed out of the atmosphere by precipitation and are deposited on the ground. A reduction of natural radiation is also possible, e.g. when the ground is covered by snow.

Why do we measure?

The ODL measuring network is an essential element of emergency preparedness. If the level of radioactivity measured at two adjacent measuring stations exceeds certain threshold values for a certain period of time, a notification is automatically triggered.

The BfS on-call service team processes and analyses such notifications without delay 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. The BfS team will check to see if there is a natural cause of the ambient dose rate increase or if it is e.g. caused by an accident.

Where do we measure?

The ODL measuring network comprises 1,800 stationary, self-controlled measuring stations which are spread all over Germany in a basic grid of roughly 20 x 20 km. Nuclear installations are surrounded by a much denser grid up to a distance of 100 km from the installations.

Locations of ODL measuring stations

In order to ensure standardised comparability of the measured ambient dose rate values, the measuring probes are positioned at a rather flat and unoccupied area.

The BfS does not only have stationary measuring systems. Mobile measuring systems installed in six vehicles supplement the stationary ambient dose rate measurements. The use of helicopters also makes it possible to perform airborne measurements (aero gamma measurements). This enables us to detect even small-scale distributions.

Nuclear emergency preparedness

The ODL measuring network is a key early warning system to rapidly detect increased levels of radiation caused by radioactive substances in the air in Germany. In the event of a radioactive cloud it would be possible to follow its dispersion almost in real time. This is an essential prerequisite for initiating targeted measures to protect the population within a very short delay.

The importance of an ODL measuring network became clear at the occasion of the Fukushima reactor accident. For Japan the ambient dose rate measurements (which were performed both in the early phase of the release and in the following days) were an important source of information so that they were able to estimate the progression and the impact on the environment. Since Germany is at a large distance from Japan and the concentration of radioactive substances was very low, the ODL measuring network did not register any increase.

Relevant information on www.bfs.de

© Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz

Navigation und Service

Was ist ODL?

Das ODL-Messnetz

Der Mensch ist ständig einer äußeren Strahlenbelastung durch natürliche Radioaktivität ausgesetzt. Diese hat ihren Ursprung in den überall im Boden und in Baustoffen vorkommenden natürlichen radioaktiven Stoffen (Radionuklide) wie zum Beispiel Uran, Thorium oder Kalium (K-40) sowie im Weltraum.

Was messen wir?

Das Messnetz des BfS misst routinemäßig die natürliche Strahlenbelastung. Die gemessene Ortsdosisleistung (ODL) wird in der Einheit Mikrosievert pro Stunde (μSv/h) angegeben. Dies entspricht der Gammastrahlung aus der Umgebung pro Stunde an einem bestimmten Ort.

Die natürliche ODL bewegt sich in Deutschland je nach örtlichen Gegebenheiten ungefähr zwischen 0,05 und 0,18 μSv/h. Diese äußere Strahlenbelastung ist an einem Ort weitgehend konstant. Kleinere, kurzzeitige Erhöhungen treten auf, wenn radioaktive Zerfallsprodukte des natürlich vorkommenden radioaktiven Gases Radon durch Niederschläge aus der Atmosphäre ausgewaschen und am Boden abgelagert werden. Eine Abschwächung der Strahlung ergibt sich zum Beispiel,  wenn der Boden von Schnee bedeckt ist.

Warum messen wir?

Das ODL-Messnetz ist wichtig für die Notfallvorsorge. Überschreitet der gemessene Radioaktivitätspegel an zwei benachbarten Messstellen eine gewisse Zeit lang bestimmte Schwellenwerte, wird automatisch eine  Meldung ausgelöst.

Die Rufbereitschaft des BfS bearbeitet und analysiert derartige Meldungen umgehend rund um die Uhr an jedem Tag im Jahr. Dabei wird geprüft, ob es sich um natürliche oder um eine zum Beispiel unfallbedingte Erhöhung der ODL handelt.

Wo messen wir?

Das ODL-Messnetz besteht aus 1.800 ortsfesten, automatisch arbeitenden Messstellen, die flächendeckend in einem Grundraster von rund 20 x 20 Kilometer über Deutschland verteilt sind. Um kerntechnische Anlagen bis zu einer Entfernung von 100 Kilometer ist das Netz deutlich dichter.

Standorte von ODL-Messstellen

Um eine standardisierte Vergleichbarkeit der gemessenen ODL-Werte zu gewährleisten, wird für die Aufstellung einer Messsonde eine möglichst ebene, unbebaute Fläche ausgewählt.

Das BfS verfügt nicht nur über stationäre Messsysteme. Mobile Messsysteme in sechs Fahrzeugen ergänzen die ortsfesten ODL-Messungen. Außerdem sind durch den Einsatz von Hubschraubern Überfliegungsmessungen (Aero-Gamma-Messungen) möglich. Sie können auch kleinräumige Verteilungen erfassen.

Nukleare Notfallvorsorge

Das ODL-Messnetz hat eine wichtige Frühwarnfunktion, um erhöhte Strahlung durch radioaktive Stoffe in der Luft in Deutschland schnell zu erkennen. Im Falle der Ausbreitung einer radioaktiven Schadstoffwolke könnte diese nahezu in Echtzeit verfolgt werden. Dies ist eine wesentliche Voraussetzung, um sehr kurzfristig gezielte Maßnahmen zum Schutz der Bevölkerung einzuleiten.

Wie wichtig ein ODL-Messnetz ist, hat sich beim Unfall in Fukushima gezeigt. Für Japan waren Messungen der ODL sowohl in der Frühphase der Freisetzung als auch in den folgenden Tagen eine der wichtigsten Informationsquellen, um Verlauf und Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt abzuschätzen. Im weit entfernten Deutschland wurde aufgrund der sehr geringen Konzentration radioaktiver Stoffe keine Erhöhungen über das ODL-Messnetz gemessen.

© Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz