Navigation and service

Definition of ODL

ODL values: Impact of external factors

The ODL measuring probes are used to record the ambient radiation at a height of one metre above the ground. The intensity of the external radiation is indicated in μSv/h (microsievert per hour).

Impact of external factors on the measured ODL values

The natural radiation caused by radioactive substances at a specific place depends in particular on the altitude and the geological formation and remains largely constant over long periods of time.

Impact of the weather

The intensity of the local dose rate is sometimes affected by external factors. These include:

Rain

Radioactive decay products of radon, a natural radioactive noble gas, are washed out of the atmosphere by precipitation and are deposited on the ground. This may cause the local dose rate (ODL) to increase, so that it temporarily reaches twice the normal value. However, the local dose rate will return to its normal level within a few hours.

Snow

As in the case of rain, snowfall may lead to an increase of the local dose rate, in particular if the ground was free of snow before. If the ground remains covered by snow, the snow will shield the terrestrial radiation so that it does not reach the probe. The local dose rate will decrease and remain at a lower level until the snow begins to thaw. Then the local dose rate will return to its former level.

Wind

Strong winds can cause oscillations in the entire probe including the standpipe. This may trigger electric pulses within the counter and lead to an increase in the measured values.

Seasonal variations

The local dose rate is not only subject to short-term phenomena but also to seasonal variations when considered over longer periods of time. These variations may amount to several 0.01 μSv/h. The principle reasons are:

  • ongoing changes in soil moisture,
  • the geology of the ground, the surface properties of the ground, and
  • the local microclimate.

Technical problems

Maintenance work, reconstruction of the site, malfunctions of transmitters, malfunctions of probes and regular radiological testing of the probes may lead to a short-term or long-term downtime of measuring stations.

© Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz

Navigation und Service

Was ist ODL?

ODL-Werte: Einfluss äußerer Faktoren

Die ODL-Messsonde erfasst die Umgebungsstrahlung in einer Höhe von einem Meter über dem Boden. Die Höhe der äußeren Strahlung wird in der Einheit μSv/h (Mikrosievert pro Stunde) angegeben.

Beeinflussung der ODL-Messwerte durch äußere Faktoren

Die natürliche Strahlung durch radioaktive Stoffe an einem Ort ist über lange Zeiträume weitgehend konstant und vor allem abhängig von der geographischen Höhe sowie dem geologischen Untergrund.

Wettereinfluss

Die Ortsdosisleistung wird zeitweise von äußeren Faktoren beeinflusst. Dazu gehören insbesondere:

Regen

Durch Niederschläge werden radioaktive Folgeprodukte des natürlich vorkommenden radioaktiven Edelgases Radon aus der Atmosphäre ausgewaschen und am Boden abgelagert. Dadurch kann die ODL kurzzeitig bis auf das Doppelte des Normalwertes anstiegen. Innerhalb von wenigen Stunden geht die ODL auf den Normalpegel zurück.

Schnee

Schneefall kann, insbesondere wenn der Untergrund vorher schneefrei war, zu einer regentypischen Erhöhung der Ortsdosisleistung führen. Bleibt der Schnee liegen, schirmt er die Bodenstrahlung dauerhaft von der Sonde ab, und die ODL sinkt. Dieser niedrigere ODL-Wert bleibt bestehen, bis Tauwetter einsetzt und der Schnee schmilzt. Dann steigen die ODL-Werte wieder auf das alte Niveau.

Wind

Starker Wind kann die gesamte Sonde inklusive des Standrohres in Schwingungen versetzen. Dies kann im Zählrohr elektrische Impulse auslösen und damit den Messwert erhöhen.

Jahreszeitliche Schwankungen

Die Ortsdosisleistung unterliegt neben den kurzfristigen Variationen in längeren Zeitabschnitten auch jahreszeitlichen Schwankungen. Diese Schwankungen können in einer Größenordnung von einigen 0,01 μSv/h liegen. Wesentliche Gründe hierfür sind

  • der ständige Wechsel der Bodenfeuchtigkeit,
  • die Geologie des Untergrundes, die Oberflächenbeschaffenheit des Bodens sowie
  • das Mikroklima am Standort.

Technische Störungen

Wartungsarbeiten, Umbauten an den Liegenschaften, defekte Messwertsender, defekte Sonden sowie regelmäßige radiologische Prüfungen der Sonden können zu kurzen oder längeren Ausfällen von Messstationen führen.

© Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz